Pausing mid cut scene, why this is a very over looked feature

I think this is a topic that’s been covered all over the web in detail. I don’t mean to re-hash an old topic, but it is something that bothers me as I love gaming, but understand there are some things in life that just can’t wait for cut scenes to finish. Whether it’s someone at the door, a phone call I simply can’t miss, my wife needing to grab my attention, or my dog having stomach problems and… well, I’ll let you fill in the rest.

But it’s infuriating when games still don’t allow you to do this. To list a few good examples of games that do this that I’ve used on many occasions in may day to day social life. Practically any game on the 3DS is great for this, not only do games like Xenoblade Chronicles 3D allow you to do this in game, but you are also able to simply close the lid for any game and pause not in mid scene, but any point in the game, it’s fabulous! Notable other mentions, Xenoblade Chronicles X, Witcher 2, Metal Gear Solid 4, the list goes on.

There is however one game that omits this, for reasons I just don’t understand, not only considering it’s developer has progressed through the ranks rapidly over the years and arguably has made one of the best games of all time, but they had it as a feature in their previous title! Yes, Witcher 3, I’m looking at you. For all your glory and all the things you do right, you left out this feature… why!? I don’t understand. A game like Xenoblade Chronicles X allows me to do this which holds little importance in 90% of it’s cut scenes, yet a game where the things said and happen really matter in cut scenes, and are just down right amazing to watch, the Witcher 3 really dropped the ball on this. It’s burned me a couple times where I couldn’t make out what characters said and I’ve been forced to replay certain bits because of this annoying omission. What makes it harder is when you approach markers, sometimes they allow you to play through and search for things or mark your next destination, but other times it triggers dialogue, and I can’t do a damn thing to be ready for this.

Here’s hoping for their next game that CD Projekt RED puts this back in their games. For any single player game these days, this I think should be a standard feature. Who else has been burned by not having this readily available?

7 thoughts on “Pausing mid cut scene, why this is a very over looked feature

  1. This is one of those things that developers should have included the moment they introduced the idea of long, dialogue-heavy cinematic cutscenes in video games. I’m honestly amazed that despite Metal Gear Solid 4 having the right idea nine years ago, developers continue to forego this feature.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I’ve been playing FFX HD remake on PC for a little over 20 hours now and I love how I can just tap Escape and pause any cutscene. On the other hand, the fact that I can’t skip cutscenes (particularly ones I’ve seen before) infuriates me. I think I got so used to playing nothing but 3DS and Vita for over a year before going back to a huge PC, and I was used to being able to just tap a button at any time and freeze time right then and there.

    Not sure why so many developers skip out on this obvious feature! Sometimes people get interrupted, and something as simple as not being able to pause or save anywhere means that I might not ever get to play that game.

    Like

  3. I’d love to be able to pause more cutscenes, especially since it’s during them that people suddenly want to talk to me haha. But in all seriousness, with cutscenes being so cinematic and integral to some stories now, being able to manipulate how they play would be very helpful and would most certainly enhance the experience!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

