The Worst Kind of Debt… BACKLOG!

Over the years as I got older, grew my interests, and of course made more money, I naturally bought more and more games for all different platforms. PS3, Wii, Wii U, PC, 3ds etc. However it’s become a rare occurrence that I finish a good chunk of these games before newer titles start rolling out. Things like Steam Summer sales never helped either because some discounts were sooo absurd that it felt like I was really missing out passing on $10 games even though I knew that it would be a while until I had time to properly play that game. My buying a new game on sales went something like, purchase game, install/download, play for an hour (at most), shut it down, and then not play it for months… Which would lead me to coming back to the game, and having to start over because I totally forgot the story and why I’m doing what I’m doing in this game, and in a lot of cases, controls and mechanics needed to be relearned.

I’m coming to a point where things like Steam sales, maybe are becoming a bit underwhelming, or are happening often enough that I’m not obliged to buy games everytime there is a sale. In fact, I am very proud to say last Christmas, I did not buy a single game on steam. I did buy a game elsewhere which was Overwatch because it was on sale, and multiplayer games have an easier way of fitting into my time as they are much more pick up and play friendly and there is no story to complete, I can never finish the game, just enjoy it while it lasts basically. But yes, I only purchased 1 game! Go me!

I felt like this may be the start of something for me being able to not buy any games and realize, I have a huge plethora of amazing games that I snagged for dirt cheap that NEED to be played. I really want to finish my backlog, and I just need some discipline to do so, and I really want to utilize this blog as a place to help with it. I’ve seen others do this from time to time and I think it’s great. Not only to keep track of my progress, but to report out to those who are interested in reading about my tales and if they are willing, to keep tabs on me so to speak and make sure I don’t drift astray. Also I wouldn’t mind if I reach a certain point and some people based on my gaming habits would recommend maybe the next title I should take on that I could not only enjoy, but get through relatively quickly.

So here it goes, behold…

THE BACKLOG!!!!

  • Abzu
  • xenoblade chronicles X
  • witcher 3
  • pokemon moon
  • monster hunter 4
  • dragon age
  • okami
  • majoras mask
  • Boxboy!
  • Kid icarus uprising
  • Pokemon X
  • phoenix wright dual destinies
  • donkey kong country returns
  • super mario 3d world
  • The Last Story
  • dark souls
  • fire emblem awakening
  • FF7
  • Chrono Trigger
  • Super mario RPG
  • FF8
  • FF13
  • Shovel Knight
  • Rayman Legends
  • Uncharted 2
  • Mario Galaxy 2
  • Far cry 3
  • Far cry 3 blood dragon
  • skyrim
  • tomb raider
  • metal gear rising
  • DMC (Devil May Cry)
  • transformers devastation
  • shadows of mordor
  • borderlands 2
  • Bioshock infinite
  • life is strange
  • brutal legend
  • jotun
  • axiom verge
  • dishonored
  • limbo
  • dark siders
  • dark siders 2
  • strike suit zero
  • jade empire
  • the witcher
  • red dead redemption
  • wonderful 101
  • Starcraft 2: Wings of Liberty
  • Diablo 3
  • Azure Striker Gunvolt
  • HarmoKnight

Completed: 1 (1.9%)
Remaining: 52
Total: 53

This is in no particular order to be completed, the top few are the first few games I want to knock off first, as things like Xenoblade Chronicles X and Witcher 3 are monstrosities and I feel taking these down will really lighten my load. To note, I did include Abzu since I did purchase that on a whim a couple weeks back as there was a nice steam deal on it, and I knew I could knock it out within a couple of hours. It also doesn’t hurt to start out with some progress, so I set myself up for success with that one.

There is a possibility I may add to this with certain AAA releases like Mass Effect or Zelda, but I don’t think I’ll be doing those on day 1 of their respective releases. I also have a few other titles not listed that are sequels of some that I may queue up later depending if I like the initial title. Stay tuned for more and wish me luck!

5 thoughts on “The Worst Kind of Debt… BACKLOG!

  1. Holy cow man.. you’ve built yourself quite a backlog there. If I saw that list out of context, I’d imagine the creator was simply making a list of the longest games ever made! :O

    If you’re looking for some advice, here’s what I recommend. Figure out how many hours a month you game on average. Multiply by 12 for the year.

    Add your whole backlog to HowLongToBeat.com and figure out how many hours you’ve got ahead of you. List the games by longest playtime and pick 5 from the top and 5 from the bottom. Prioritize by how much you want to play them. Play one from each list of 5 (short and long-term), so, 2 games at a time. You’ll knock out the low-hanging fruit and feel like you’re progressing a lot more.

    I normally have 2-3 games going at a time, and I try to only play 3-4 long games per year and not drive myself nuts with huge games anymore, knowing I just don’t have the time to play them. Here’s my backlog if you want to see what I mean!

    https://howlongtobeat.com/user.php?n=g3ddylee&s=games&playing=1

    Good luck dude!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh neat I check that site when wanting to know how long some games are, but that upload feature sounds handy, will check it out, thanks!

      Like

  2. Good luck on your backlog! I like getting games done on my backlog but I’ve also learned not to worry about it. I just keep track of what games to beat, and do so when I feel like playing that game. Sometimes it’s good to have games in the backlog because then at least there’s something to play during game droughts or if you don’t pick up the newest games!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

