The Legend of Zelda Breath of the Wild Switch vs Wii U comparison

A Youtube video posted by Lord Richie has surfaced a few days ago. He has put together a couple of comparisons of Zelda for Wii U and Switch running side by side. To be honest, I cannot tell the difference at all. People in the comments seem to think there are slight differences, but all come to the conclusion that they are very minor and the two versions look more of less the same.

This is good news for people like me holding off on the Switch. I think the key difference is when run on TV mode, the Switch will play this at 900p where the Wii U is limited to 720p. When comparing the Switch in TV mode vs the Wii U, both versions do run into some frame rate drops. In handheld mode for the Switch however the game runs at a solid 30 FPS, but will run at 720p. Part 2 of this series goes into the loading times and frame rate drop comparisons between the both as well. Wii U loads slightly slower but nothing game breaking by any means as far as I can tell. Either way, I’m more than happy to be getting this for Wii U. I was worried Nintendo might not care about the Wii U version as much since they may have wanted to push more sales towards the Switch, but they’ve proved me wrong, it looks and runs pretty damn good.

Can’t wait to get my hands on this tomorrow!

6 thoughts on “The Legend of Zelda Breath of the Wild Switch vs Wii U comparison

  1. I’m not sure how Nintendo manages to be this good three decades after the debut of The Legend of Zelda, but if this new one is half as good as they say, I’m not going to question it too much. It’s amazing when you think that other creators have debuted, had their time in the sun, and faded away all within the time Nintendo has been good (despite a few setbacks). I’m definitely going to check this game out when I get a chance.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Still completely blown away that I’ll be playing this game tomorrow. It’s been over a decade that I’ve played a new console Zelda game for the first time, yet here we are!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow that’s a long time!! Enjoy once it’s in your hands. I ain’t getting a switch today but I remember getting the original Wii on day one so I could play twilight princess. Camped out and everything, exciting times

      Like

Leave a Reply

