The Long Dark Story Mode Release Date Confirmed

Well here’s some great news that popped up yesterday. The Long Dark, which is currently part of Steam’s early access, will have 2 episodes of a 5 part series released on August 1st later this year. This comes as part of the long awaited story mode that has been covered by the developers, Hinterland Studios, for quite some time.

I’m not someone who has played The Long Dark. However, I was pointed to the game by Falcon Game Reviews great coverage on The Long Dark, through the fantastic posts writing diaries of their play throughs and effectively creating their own story. Each post got me pretty intrigued about the game. They were so well written, I was surprised to find out that it’s been an early access game this whole time without any story up to this point. You can check out their latest post in the series here.

Just a week ago, there was a fantastic sale going for about $10, about half off from the regular price. I shied away from it though. With the nature of the game currently being that there is no story mode, and the only goal is to survive as long as possible without a strong narrative turned me away from it. I have nothing against games that have you imagine your own story and dictate the games direction. I just have a preference to have something play out with more of a narrative. I’m not to good at that, as is evident with my lack of dedication to other fabulous games like Elite Dangerous.

Hearing the confirmation of The Long Dark’s long awaited story mode is great news, and I’ll definitely have plans to pick this up once it’s out. The survival element of the game looks quite intriguing, and being set in my home of Canada doesn’t hurt either ๐Ÿ˜‰

For the official post from the developers, check out the link below for more information and a sneak peek trailer of what’s to come. The first 2 episodes are slated for August 1st of this year and will be coming to Steam, PS4 and Xbox One.

http://thelongdark.com/news/posts/light-at-the-end/

Are you excited for The Long Dark’s story mode? Are you someone who benefits by having a strong narrative in games? Or do you prefer dictating a games direction? Share your thoughts in the comments below!

2 thoughts on “The Long Dark Story Mode Release Date Confirmed

  1. I played this game for a bit when it first came out and loved it. For some reason it creeped me out more than most survival games because of how raw it was, but I loved the realism and the sense of relief when you would find a random cabin out in the wilderness… only to go inside and find nothing of use. It’s a great game.

    I only stopped playing because I didn’t know what to do next – Story Mode is new to me though, didn’t know they were coming out with it, so thanks for the heads up! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

