What’s on the Agenda – June 2017 Edition

Hi Everyone! Well June is here, and I am proud to say I met all my milestones I set for myself last month, which included completing the four games I set out to. This was significant because I was able to take a couple games out of my backlog, one being quite a long one. You can read about that here. I already have reviews out for Xenoblade Chronicles X and Ruin of the Reckless, and will have reviews for Rakuen and Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney – Dual Destinies out as well in the next couple of weeks.

But I am proud to say, my back log is getting a bit shorter. There is still quite a bit to go, but I’m happy of what I’ve done with some careful planning, especially considering one of the big games I took on early this year was Breath of the Wild.

Backlog stats
6/53
9.4% complete
47 to go

Now that June is here, I am resetting the playing field and will let you know what I have planned for this upcoming month to complete and eventually review. I’ve decided to stay away from some of the bigger titles unlike last month. Outside of the blog a lot is going in with family events, so I’ll need to realistically pick games I can complete.

Cosmic Star Heroine

cosmic-star-heroine-listing-thumb-01-ps4-us-16mar17.png

I’ve dabbled a bit into the first hour of this new Chrono Trigger inspired indie JRPG, and I gotta say, I absolutely love it. From the charming vibrant retro styled graphics, to the awesome soundtrack. The battle system also works great, as it employs new and unique mechanics that add depth and challenge, and more importantly, keep things very interesting and tactical. More to come in June as I plan to have a full review out.

Drifting Lands

gif01-clear-skies-shoal-loop

If a picture is worth a thousand words, than an animation is worth ten thousand words. Just tried the demo of Drifting Lands on Steam, which is set to launch on June 5th. This is a SHMUP styled game that includes a very in depth gear upgrade and skill system. As you can see, besides being a very chaotic, crazy and beautiful looking game, you need to upgrade the many ships available to you by getting better weapons, shields etc. Quickly the game gets quite challenging, by throwing crazy scenarios like above at you. You can use all the help you can get in the way of upgrades to dodge and absorb the barrage of projectiles being launched at you. Oh, the game also features a kick ass progressive metal sound track with blazing fast and intricate guitar and keyboard solos with some heavy double bass drums, it’s pretty sweet. Check out the steam store page here.

Jotun

jotun

In keeping with the tradition of knocking games out of my back log, I want to get this giant out of the way. Jotun features very beautiful hand drawn sprites and animations, and it’s bosses are incredible. The game has a very unique aura and presence being based on Norse mythology, featuring traditional music and some very cool sound language.

Limbo

27131634-limbo-wallpapers

Another gem from my back log. I’ve only dabbled a bit in this one, but was very impressed with what I played and just how creepy the game could get. Featuring a very simplistic and unique art style, Limbo visually is still manages to be visually impressive and immersive. Can’t wait to dive deeper into this one.

There you have it! What’s your thoughts on some of these games? What are you plans for the upcoming month to play. Let’s get chatting in the comments section!

11 thoughts on “What’s on the Agenda – June 2017 Edition

  1. Congrats on tackling some backlog games. Always feels nice, doesn’t it? I liked Limbo quite a bit. It’s nice and short too, which is always refreshing. I didn’t care for Jotun, though. Great art, but the game play never clicked with me. Hope you dig it.

    Good luck this month! CSH was great!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. oh yea, I’m having fun to since there’s quite a few good games I have to take on. So it’s not all drudgery in completing everything as fast as possible.

      Oh yea and CSH is awesome. I initially turned to it after checking out your review. I think I fell in love with it literally in the opening moments. It’s so cool

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think part of what made gaming so special growing up is lost as an adult when we don’t have nearly as much free time and begin focusing on completing things instead of experiencing them. I get that way sometimes, so I’m glad that you don’t appear to be lol.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I believe it’s a sequel since it’s titles after the previous Xenoblade Chronicles 2. And the art highly resembles what we saw in the original.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yea definitely a reason why I picked it, as I can knock it out in decent time without feeling lost in hours upon hours of game play. I’m also a sucker for unique visually styled game.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

