Thoughts on Sony’s E3 2017 Presentation

Sony’s E3 2017 presentation aired last night. Sadly I couldn’t watch it live, yesterday was just too hectic, but I have managed to catch up with what was shown and announced. Overall a pretty good show. Sony didn’t have much to prove besides continue doing what they are doing. Leading sales for all consoles at this point and having quality exclusive after exclusive with more to come, it’s safe to say they had the easiest task for this presentation.

For me, the key things for Sony is to ensure that what they do show is coming out relatively soon. In past E3’s, Sony tended to show off games that had little or no appearances after the initial reveal, leading to delays, or just fans just wondering “What the hell is going on what that game?”. I’m glad to report that Sony avoided this problem, with a good chunk of the games shown are coming latest in 2018. A big improvement in keeping to timelines.

I also liked the fact that there was little PR rep bullshit going on in this presentation, and it was mostly focused on showing games. The stage theatrics, props and effects were also a nice touch, audio issues aside.

Anywho, without further adieu, here are the games that caught my eye!

Disclaimer: There are some titles revealed that are omitted from my summary, simply because I don’t have an attachment to the series they are a part of, or had any experience with past entries of the series. So I am avoiding discussing titles that I may never play, as the trailer may not have piqued my interest and I simply don’t want to talk about games for the sake of talking about them.

UNCHARTED: The Lost Legacy

Now this is a series I’m not too into. Playing the first of the Uncharted games on PS3, I wasn’t a big fan of the game play, although the story was fun with likeable characters and has some amazingly polished presentation. I’m quite amazed with how this games looks, from a technical perspective to things like animations and to facial expressions. It’s like something straight out of Hollywood. It looks to be pretty action packed, so I’m sure fans of the series will eat this up. Uncharted: The Lost Legacy will be out August 22 this year.

Horizon Zero Dawn: The Frozen Wilds

I will one day play Horizon Zero Dawn, and I’m glad this is announced. The game looks fabulous, and I hear nothing but greatness about it. With a DLC expansion around the corner, it’s good to know there will be an absurd amount of content whenever I get around to Horizon Zero Dawn. The Frozen Wilds will be out later this year.

Monster Hunter World

FUCK YEA!! This is a huge announcement! Easily the one I’m most excited for. I thought up to this point, Monster Hunter would be a Nintendo platform exclusive, but Capcom has done a great fan service be providing it not only on PS4, but all platforms. The game looks beautiful and monster battles look as crazy as ever with destructible environments. What’s big, is this will be open world. I was not a fan of the traditional games having the worlds broken off into segments. It made battles with monsters needlessly hard if they knocked you back and forced your game to load another section. Now I have some serious thinking to do. Do I commit to the Switch version or this? Well, I have some time to think about it, as this will be out early 2018.

Shadow of the Colussus

I not always on board with doing remakes and reboots, but this is the ONE game I have wanted brought over into glorious current gen HD. At long last it’s coming. One of the best experiences I’ve had in video games, and guess what? It’s coming 2018!

Marvel vs Capcom Infinite

I really love the look of this. Crossing Ultron and Sigma into one super bad villain, FUCKIN’ AWESOME! I am keeping my eye on this one. Aside from Chun-Li looking meh, it looks like a super fun cross over. It’ll be out not a moment too soon on September 19th.

God of War

What’s their to say about God of War that already hasn’t been said? The game looks spectacular. The action looks incredible and the monsters are out of this world. This looks as epic as ever. That World Serpent at the end… Oh man! Hopefully we can get our hands it on early 2018.

Detroit: Become Human

This is a neat looking game. I liked Heavy Rain and the whole interactive movie game play they did. I’ve seen people criticize this trailer as it doesn’t show much in the way of how the game will feel and play. To me it seems like it’ll play similar to Heavy Rain, as one part of the trailer shows a choice being made with buttons corresponding to actions, much like in Heavy Rain. So it’ll probably involve walking around, making choices, talking to people and QTE’s for the action. Looks very cinematic, I am interested. No release date set as it is development still.

Destiny 2

I never got into Destiny, simply because it wasn’t available on PC. The idea of Destiny always intrigued me and I want to try taking the plunge in Destiny 2, on which platform, I don’t know. But I can see myself having fun with the co-op play with my brother. I’ll be honest though, I am looking more forward to Anthem given what we’ve seen of it so far, but that’s still ways off. Let’s see how this plays out September 6th.

Marvel’s Spider-Man

This looks like the spider man game we’ve needed. I loved the original web slinging game we got back in the PS1 and Dreamcast. I had a blast web slinging along buildings and taking on some of the awesome bosses. It does look to have an Arkham Knight kind of feel to it, but that can’t be a bad thing can it? The destructible environments, saving the general public from danger, Spider Mans witty dialogue and the chaos and mayhem just looks rad. It comes out 2018.

Conclusion

Sony had an excellent presentation. They technically didn’t show a huge number of games but instead focused on what is coming out within the next year, which was the right move for them. As I said, in the past they’ve tended to show games that have releases too far out, are never heard of for a long time or are eventually delayed. I don’t have a PS4 but am just as excited as anyone who does have one and eagerly would love to get my hands on one for some of these games, including their existing library. Maybe I’ll jump the ship near the end of the year, since 2018 seems like a good time to get on board.

5 thoughts on “Thoughts on Sony’s E3 2017 Presentation

  1. I loved watching this! I always get excited to catch it live and this year did not disappoint. For me personally, Spiderman stole the show. Such an impressive demo with different mechanics and playstyles seamlessly blending into each other as part of one long set-piece. It looked and felt amazing! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Definitely, although I would be interested to see how much of it is cinematics vs actual game play. There needs to be a balance and enough of it hopefully is controllable, but the stuff was so hectic I can only imagine how they pull that off. We’ll have to wait and see but cool none the less.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

